Summerton scores USA's maiden win

The Nation vs Nation Championship with 22 Countries taking part across Europe Asia Australasia Africa and America during the off season.

Moderator: CrazyChick

Summerton scores USA's maiden win

Postby CrazyChick » Sun 13 Apr, 2008 9:46 pm

By Andrew van de Burgt, Sunday 13th April 2008

Jonathan Summerton took Team USA's first ever A1GP win in superb fashion in the Shanghai feature race today.

Summerton beat pole sitter Neel Jani into Turn 1 and didn't look back. By the chequered flag he was almost 10 seconds to the good.

Jani's hopes of wrapping up the title disappeared along with second gear in the Team Switzerland car. He managed to bring the car home in fifth, but with Jonny Reid one place ahead of him in fourth, Team New Zealand still has a mathematical hope of winning the championship at Brands Hatch.

Filipe Albuquerque wrapped up an excellent weekend for Team Portugal with second place, while Adam Carroll continued Team Ireland's recent good form with third...............

Code: Select all
Pos  Driver                Team             Time
 1.  J. Summerton          USA              1:02:25.206
 2.  F. Albuquerque        Portugal         +     9.729
 3.  Adam Carroll          Ireland          +    15.303
 4.  Jonny Reid            New Zealand      +    19.533
 5.  Neel Jani             Switzerland      +    26.193
 6.  Alex Yoong            Malaysia         +    34.410
 7.  N. Karthikeyan        India            +    35.967
 8.  Franck Montagny       France           +    38.213
 9.  Robbie Kerr           Great Britain    +    39.280
10.  M. Ammermuller        Germany          +    39.890
11.  Filip Salaquarda      Czech Republic   +    47.568
12.  Edoardo Piscopo       Italy            +    50.348
13.  Alexandre Negrao      Brazil           +    50.968
14.  John Martin           Australia        +    52.624
15.  Cheng Cong Fu         China            +    53.240
16.  Adrian Zaugg          South Africa     +    55.629
17.  Adam Khan             Pakistan         +  1:05.352
18.  J. Bleekemolen        Netherlands      +  1:14.390
19.  Satrio Hermanto       Indonesia        +  1:20.252
20.  Robert Wickens        Canada           +  1:21.003
21.  Jorge Goeters         Mexico           +     1 lap
22.  Jimmy Auby            Lebanon          +     1 lap

2012 Motorsport Champions:
Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel, IRL: Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR: Brad Keselowski, GP2: Davide Valsecchi, WSR: Robin Frijns, British F3: Jack Harvey, Euro F3: Daniel Juncadella, GP3: Mitch Evans, Formula 2: Luciano Bacheta.
WRC: Sebastien Loeb, BTCC: Gordon Sheddon, WTCC: Rob Huff, DTM: Bruno Spengler.
MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo, WSB: Max Biaggi, BSB: Shane Byrne, Moto2: Marc Marquez, Moto 3: Sandro Cortese.
User avatar
Posts: 11392
Joined: Mon 13 Nov, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: JB: "Playing with my steering wheel"

Return to Fond Memories Of A1 GP

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest