Briscoe clinches first IndyCar win

Discuss Indy Racing League, Champ Car (as was), Formula Atlantic and Super Vee here

Moderator: Pepper

Briscoe clinches first IndyCar win

Postby CrazyChick » Mon 02 Jun, 2008 1:21 pm

By Matt Beer and Jeff Olson, Sunday 1st June 2008

Ryan Briscoe fended off championship leader Scott Dixon to score his first IndyCar Series race win at the Milwaukee Mile.

Penske driver Briscoe worked his way into contention in the second half of the race after falling as low as 14th early on. With 70 laps to go, Briscoe was up to third place, then overtook teammate Helio Castroneves and then Dixon (Ganassi) in quick succession to hit the front on lap 176.

After briefly losing ground to Briscoe, Dixon closed right back in and put the Penske driver under enormous pressure through the traffic in the closing laps, briefly drawing alongside on the outside on lap 220 of 225.

But when a full course yellow came out with three laps to go following a dramatic multi-car incident, Briscoe was able to clinch his maiden win and put last week's controversial Indianapolis pit lane crash with Danica Patrick behind him.

The victory was the 300th in the history of Roger Penske's race team, and also came on the 30th anniversary of Rick Mears' first IndyCar victory for Penske. Briscoe, Mears' latest pupil as an advisor for Team Penske, credited his mentor for the win........

Code: Select all
Pos  Driver             Team                  Time
 1.  Ryan Briscoe       Penske                225 laps
 2.  Scott Dixon        Ganassi              +  0.0487
 3.  Tony Kanaan        Andretti Green       +  1.8413
 4.  Dan Wheldon        Ganassi              +  2.9314
 5.  Helio Castroneves  Penske               +  4.6704
 6.  Oriol Servia       KV                   + 14.2217
 7.  Justin Wilson      Newman/Haas/Lanigan  +   1 lap
 8.  EJ Viso            HVM                  +   1 lap
 9.  Danica Patrick     Andretti Green       +   1 lap
10.  Buddy Rice         Dreyer & Reinbold    +   1 lap
11.  Townsend Bell      Dreyer & Reinbold    +   1 lap
12.  Hideki Mutoh       Andretti Green       +   1 lap
13.  Darren Manning     Foyt                 +  2 laps
14.  Will Power         KV                   +  2 laps
15.  Ryan Hunter-Reay   Rahal Letterman      +  2 laps
16.  Enrique Bernoldi   Conquest             +  3 laps
17.  AJ Foyt IV         Vision               +  3 laps
18.  Bruno Junqueira    Dale Coyne           +  3 laps
19.  John Andretti      Roth                 +  3 laps
20.  Ed Carpenter       Vision               +  4 laps
21.  Marco Andretti     Andretti Green       +  4 laps
22.  Vitor Meira        Panther              +  5 laps
23.  Mario Moraes       Dale Coyne           +  7 laps
24.  Jaime Camara       Conquest             +  7 laps
25.  Graham Rahal       Newman/Haas/Lanigan  + 96 laps
26.  Mario Dominguez    Pacific Coast        +118 laps

2012 Motorsport Champions:
Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel, IRL: Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR: Brad Keselowski, GP2: Davide Valsecchi, WSR: Robin Frijns, British F3: Jack Harvey, Euro F3: Daniel Juncadella, GP3: Mitch Evans, Formula 2: Luciano Bacheta.
WRC: Sebastien Loeb, BTCC: Gordon Sheddon, WTCC: Rob Huff, DTM: Bruno Spengler.
MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo, WSB: Max Biaggi, BSB: Shane Byrne, Moto2: Marc Marquez, Moto 3: Sandro Cortese.
User avatar
Posts: 11392
Joined: Mon 13 Nov, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: JB: "Playing with my steering wheel"

Return to Indycar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests