Kanaan wins wild Richmond race

Discuss Indy Racing League, Champ Car (as was), Formula Atlantic and Super Vee here

Moderator: Pepper

Kanaan wins wild Richmond race

Postby CrazyChick » Sun 29 Jun, 2008 8:06 pm

By Matt Beer and Jeff Olson, Sunday 29th June 2008

Tony Kanaan finally took his first victory of the 2008 IRL IndyCar Series season by winning from pole on an extremely destructive evening at Richmond.

The race saw a total of nine cautions, mostly compacted into the event's disjointed first half, with only 10 cars completing the distance without damage.

Kanaan, who started from the pole, led 166 of the 300 laps - a distance 50 laps longer than the usual 250-lap race at RIR.

"There was a lot of action, definitely a lot of yellows," Kanaan said. "We benefited from being in the front, for sure.

Penske's Helio Castroneves recovered from his poor qualifying to take second, as series leader Scott Dixon completed the podium ahead of his Ganassi teammate Dan Wheldon, whose car faltered - apparently out of fuel - at the final corner, costing him third.

But while Andretti Green Racing could celebrate Kanaan's win, they missed out on a potential one-two when Marco Andretti lost ground by pitting under green having led much of the race, leaving the young American ninth at the flag.

The opening laps set the tone for the chaos that followed, with the yellow..........

Code: Select all
Pos  Driver             Team                 Time
 1.  Tony Kanaan        Andretti Green       2h04:05.5111
 2.  Helio Castroneves  Penske               +     4.7691
 3.  Scott Dixon        Ganassi              +     6.6504
 4.  Dan Wheldon        Ganassi              +     7.7270
 5.  Oriol Servia       KV                   +    10.7701
 6.  Danica Patrick     Andretti Green       +    10.9198
 7.  Justin Wilson      Newman/Haas/Lanigan  +    16.3094
 8.  Townsend Bell      Dreyer & Reinbold    +    17.5175
 9.  Marco Andretti     Andretti Green       +      1 lap
10.  EJ Viso            HVM                  +      1 lap
11.  Ed Carpenter       Vision               +    62 laps
12.  Darren Manning     Foyt                 +    65 laps
13.  Hideki Mutoh       Andretti Green       +    80 laps
14.  Jaime Camara       Conquest             +    83 laps
15.  Ryan Briscoe       Penske               +   142 laps
16.  Ryan Hunter-Reay   Rahal Letterman      +   157 laps
17.  Mario Moraes       Dale Coyne           +   157 laps
18.  Graham Rahal       Newman/Haas/Lanigan  +   169 laps
19.  Marty Roth         Roth                 +   183 laps
20.  Vitor Meira        Panther              +   209 laps
21.  John Andretti      Roth                 +   209 laps
22.  Buddy Rice         Dreyer & Reinbold    +   220 laps
23.  Bruno Junqueira    Dale Coyne           +   222 laps
24.  AJ Foyt IV         Vision               +   271 laps
25.  Will Power         KV                   +   292 laps
26.  Enrique Bernoldi   Conquest             +   294 laps


2012 Motorsport Champions:
Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel, IRL: Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR: Brad Keselowski, GP2: Davide Valsecchi, WSR: Robin Frijns, British F3: Jack Harvey, Euro F3: Daniel Juncadella, GP3: Mitch Evans, Formula 2: Luciano Bacheta.
WRC: Sebastien Loeb, BTCC: Gordon Sheddon, WTCC: Rob Huff, DTM: Bruno Spengler.
MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo, WSB: Max Biaggi, BSB: Shane Byrne, Moto2: Marc Marquez, Moto 3: Sandro Cortese.
User avatar
Posts: 11392
Joined: Mon 13 Nov, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: JB: "Playing with my steering wheel"

Re: Kanaan wins wild Richmond race

Postby Pepper » Sun 29 Jun, 2008 9:43 pm

It was absolute carnage and by the halfway point half the field was out!

Danica was trying to defend herself in pre race interviews - finally people are fed up with her illegal blocking tactics.


Simply the best motorsport forum there is.
User avatar
Posts: 8490
Joined: Tue 26 Dec, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: jonesy's

Return to Indycar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests