Hunter-Reay scores maiden victory

Discuss Indy Racing League, Champ Car (as was), Formula Atlantic and Super Vee here

Moderator: Pepper

Hunter-Reay scores maiden victory

Postby CrazyChick » Mon 07 Jul, 2008 12:59 pm

By Jeff Olson, Sunday 6th July 2008

Ryan Hunter-Reay took advantage of a rare mistake by Scott Dixon to score his first IndyCar Series victory at Watkins Glen.

The Rahal Letterman Racing driver spent most of the race in a comfortable third, chasing the lead battle between Ryan Briscoe and Scott Dixon.

All three found themselves behind AJ Foyt Racing's Darren Manning after the final pitstops, the Briton having leapt to the front by virtue of pitting just before a full course yellow.

Dixon, having pursued Briscoe all race, got ahead of the Penske driver in the last stops and only had Manning between him and a fourth consecutive Watkins Glen victory.

But incredibly Dixon spun while trying to warm his tyres under yellow, leaving Briscoe with no choice but to run into him, dropping both to the tail of the pack.

That left Hunter-Reay free to attack Manning at the next restart, and he duly dived ahead and into a lead he would not lose.

"For something to finally go our way is great," Hunter-Reay said. "It didn't land in our lap; we had to go out there and earn it. Then we just checked out at the end, which was the best. We put an exclamation on the end of that one. It was a beautiful deal."....................

Code: Select all
Pos  Driver             Team                 Time
 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay   Rahal Letterman      1:54:01.1795
 2.  Darren Manning     Foyt                    +  2.4009
 3.  Tony Kanaan        Andretti Green          +  4.1054
 4.  Buddy Rice         Dreyer & Reinbold       +  4.8111
 5.  Marco Andretti     Andretti Green          +  5.3132
 6.  Bruno Junqueira    Dale Coyne              +  5.8084
 7.  Mario Moraes       Dale Coyne              +  8.6248
 8.  Graham Rahal       Newman/Haas/Lanigan     +  9.4563
 9.  Hideki Mutoh       Andretti Green          + 10.1785
10.  EJ Viso            HVM                     + 10.8602
11.  Scott Dixon        Ganassi                 + 11.0455
12.  Ryan Briscoe       Penske                  + 11.5953
13.  Mario Dominguez    Pacific Coast           + 12.7773
14.  Danica Patrick     Andretti Green          + 26.6599
15.  Will Power         KV                      + 38.1033
16.  Helio Castroneves  Penske                  +   1 lap
17.  Ed Carpenter       Vision                  +   1 lap
18.  Jaime Camara       Conquest                +  9 laps
19.  AJ Foyt IV         Vision                  + 13 laps
20.  Milka Duno         Dreyer & Reinbold       + 15 laps
21.  Enrique Bernoldi   Conquest                + 16 laps
22.  Vitor Meira        Panther                 + 22 laps
23.  Oriol Servia       KV                      + 22 laps
24.  Dan Wheldon        Ganassi                 + 41 laps
25.  Justin Wilson      Newman/Haas/Lanigan     + 44 laps
26.  Jay Howard         Roth                    + 45 laps

2012 Motorsport Champions:
Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel, IRL: Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR: Brad Keselowski, GP2: Davide Valsecchi, WSR: Robin Frijns, British F3: Jack Harvey, Euro F3: Daniel Juncadella, GP3: Mitch Evans, Formula 2: Luciano Bacheta.
WRC: Sebastien Loeb, BTCC: Gordon Sheddon, WTCC: Rob Huff, DTM: Bruno Spengler.
MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo, WSB: Max Biaggi, BSB: Shane Byrne, Moto2: Marc Marquez, Moto 3: Sandro Cortese.
User avatar
Posts: 11392
Joined: Mon 13 Nov, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: JB: "Playing with my steering wheel"

Re: Hunter-Reay scores maiden victory

Postby Pepper » Wed 09 Jul, 2008 12:22 pm

Great race, Darren Manning did well hanging on with worn out tyres.

Scott Dixon threw away the lead when he made a mistake warming up his tyres which caused Briscoe to drive up his chuffer and loose the nose cone.

Justin Wilson qualified 2nd but fell back from the start until the car failed on him.

And Danica was involved in yet another pit lane incident this time costing her a nose cone and a penalty......

Simply the best motorsport forum there is.
User avatar
Posts: 8490
Joined: Tue 26 Dec, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: jonesy's

Return to Indycar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests