Castroneves leads Penske front row

Discuss Indy Racing League, Champ Car (as was), Formula Atlantic and Super Vee here

Moderator: Pepper

Castroneves leads Penske front row

Postby Pepper » Sun 24 Aug, 2008 12:34 pm

Not bad considering their race cars were destroyed!

But then when their HQ was flooded in 2006 they went on to win the next race.......

With the help of a backup car and the immense effort of teammates, Helio Castroneves won pole position for Sunday's IndyCar race at Sear's Point.

A Penske transporter caught fire on Wednesday on the way to the circuit, destroying Castroneves' primary road-course car, along with teammate Ryan Briscoe's.

Briscoe will start alongside Castroneves as both Penske drivers put their back-up cars on the front row.

It will be the third consecutive 1-2 start for Team Penske in road and street races; the duo also started on the front row at Mid-Ohio and Edmonton in July.

Castroneves said his first concern was for the truck drivers, Greg Shuker and Keith Goslin, who were not injured and later coordinated efforts to salvage parts and equipment from the trailer.

"My first reaction was that somebody got hurt," Castroneves said. "The phone rang and the first thing I heard was, 'The truck caught fire.' I thought, 'Oh, my God.' After they said nobody got hurt, then I said, 'What can we do to save the cars? What can we replace? What can we not replace?' Apparently we didn't have any problems. We just tried to stay positive."

Shuker and Goslin returned to Penske headquarters in Mooresville, N.C., and drove another semi-trailer carrying backup cars and parts across country in time for the weekend's event. The team already had cars on-site because of an earlier test by Briscoe, but one car was missing an engine and the neither were prepared.

"Those guys drove without stopping for 2,200 miles," Castroneves said. "They really worked a lot this week. All of these guys worked hard for this and it showed with the front row. They did an incredible job, you can't tell these cars were backups. It was a great result."

Instead of losing ground in his battle for the championship with Scott Dixon, Castroneves gave himself a chance to close the gap. With three races remaining, he is 78 points behind Dixon - a difficult but not impossible margin to overcome.

"We're in a situation where we've got to go; we've got to try," Castroneves said. "We've got to make this gap smaller and that's what we plan to do."

Briscoe, noting the lack of equipment and the fact that the team lost a large amount of the hardware seen in the pits each weekend, noted the effort of the team.

"They've had a lot of work this weekend," he said. "It was great to reward them with a front row."

Simply the best motorsport forum there is.
User avatar
Posts: 8490
Joined: Tue 26 Dec, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: jonesy's

Re: Castroneves leads Penske front row

Postby Pepper » Sun 24 Aug, 2008 12:46 pm

1. Helio Castroneves Penske 1m 16.9027s
2. Ryan Briscoe Penske 1m 16.9185s
3. Will Power KVRT/Team Australia 1m 17.0875s
4. Tony Kanaan AGR 1m 17.1286s
5. Scott Dixon Ganassi 1m 17.6682s
6. Oriol Servia KVRT 1m 17.8377s
7. Justin Wilson NHLR 1m 17.0056s
8. Ryan Hunter-Reay Rahal Letterman 1m 17.0378s
9. Danica Patrick AGR 1m 17.0458s
10. Marco Andretti AGR 1m 17.2705s
11. Mario Dominguez Pacific Coast 1m 17.4614s
12. Mario Moraes Coyne 1m 17.5882s
13. Bruno Junqueira Coyne 1m 17.8306s
14. Ernesto Viso HVM 1m 17.4189s
15. Graham Rahal NHLR 1m 17.9012s
16. Dan Wheldon Ganassi 1m 17.4738s
17. Tomas Scheckter Luczo Dragon 1m 18.1238s
18. Vitor Meira Panther 1m 17.5399s
19. Townsend Bell Dreyer & Reinbold 1m 18.3267s
20. Hideki Mutoh AGR 1m 18.0038s
21. Darren Manning Foyt 1m 18.3885s
22. Buddy Rice Dreyer & Reinbold 1m 18.1139s
23. Ed Carpenter Vision 1m 18.4034s
24. AJ Foyt IV Vision 1m 18.3715s
25. Marty Roth Roth 1m 19.9435s
26. Jaime Camara Conquest 1m 19.4711s
27. Enrique Bernoldi Conquest no time ... times.html

Simply the best motorsport forum there is.
User avatar
Posts: 8490
Joined: Tue 26 Dec, 2006 10:43 pm
Location: jonesy's

Return to Indycar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests