Alonso Quickest In Practice 2 - Belgium

Moderator: CrazyChick

Alonso Quickest In Practice 2 - Belgium

Postby CrazyChick » Fri 14 Sep, 2007 2:50 pm

Friday 14th September 2007

World champion Fernando Alonso moved to the top of times in second practice for the Belgian Grand Prix, in a session dominated by McLaren.

Alonso's best lap of 1:46.654 was the fastest of the day, and 0.111 seconds quicker than teammate Lewis Hamilton's.

Felipe Massa bounced back from a dismal first session to post the third quickest time, nearly three tenths behind Alonso. The Ferrari driver had completed just two laps in the morning after going off and crashing against the tyre barriers.

Teammate Kimi Raikkonen, fastest in the morning, had to settle for fourth position in the afternoon. The Finn, looking for his third consecutive win at Spa, was over half a second slower than Alonso after completing 26 laps.

Toyota driver Jarno Trulli and Ralf Schumacher shone for the Japanese squad, finishing as fifth as sixth fastest, ahead of Renault's Giancarlo Fisichella and Red Bull's Mark Webber.

The top ten was completed by Robert Kubica in the BMW-Sauber and Heikki Kovalainen in the second Renault.

Webber's teammate David Coulthard was one of few drivers who hit trouble during the session. The Scot pulled off at the Fagnes chicane with an apparent mechanical problem, but later managed to return to action once his car had been fixed.

Adrian Sutil crashed his Spyker after 24 laps, going off at the exit of the Les Combes corner. The car sustained some damage and the German was unable to continue in the session.

Toro Rosso's Tonio Liuzzi managed just nine laps in the afternoon, finishing over four seconds off the pace.

Code: Select all
Pos  Driver        Team                     Time     Laps
 1.  Alonso        McLaren-Mercedes   (B)  1:46.654   29
 2.  Hamilton      McLaren-Mercedes   (B)  1:46.765   29
 3.  Massa         Ferrari            (B)  1:46.953   27
 4.  Raikkonen     Ferrari            (B)  1:47.166   26
 5.  Trulli        Toyota             (B)  1:47.491   33
 6.  R Schumacher  Toyota             (B)  1:47.946   34
 7.  Fisichella    Renault            (B)  1:48.086   30
 8.  Webber        Red Bull-Renault   (B)  1:48.271   29
 9.  Kubica        BMW Sauber         (B)  1:48.279   37
10.  Kovalainen    Renault            (B)  1:48.567   38
11.  Heidfeld      BMW Sauber         (B)  1:48.606   36
12.  Rosberg       Williams-Toyota    (B)  1:48.840   32
13.  Coulthard     Red Bull-Renault   (B)  1:48.883   17
14.  Button        Honda              (B)  1:48.919   29
15.  Barrichello   Honda              (B)  1:49.364   31
16.  Wurz          Williams-Toyota    (B)  1:49.393   28
17.  Yamamoto      Spyker-Ferrari     (B)  1:49.697   32
18.  Vettel        Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B)  1:49.720   34
19.  Sato          Super Aguri-Honda  (B)  1:50.168   23
20.  Sutil         Spyker-Ferrari     (B)  1:50.399   24
21.  Davidson      Super Aguri-Honda  (B)  1:50.542   24
22.  Liuzzi        Toro Rosso-Ferrari (B)  1:50.865    9

2012 Motorsport Champions:
Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel, IRL: Ryan Hunter-Reay, NASCAR: Brad Keselowski, GP2: Davide Valsecchi, WSR: Robin Frijns, British F3: Jack Harvey, Euro F3: Daniel Juncadella, GP3: Mitch Evans, Formula 2: Luciano Bacheta.
WRC: Sebastien Loeb, BTCC: Gordon Sheddon, WTCC: Rob Huff, DTM: Bruno Spengler.
MotoGP: Jorge Lorenzo, WSB: Max Biaggi, BSB: Shane Byrne, Moto2: Marc Marquez, Moto 3: Sandro Cortese.
User avatar
Posts: 11392
Joined: Mon 13 Nov, 2006 5:13 pm
Location: JB: "Playing with my steering wheel"

Postby ForzaAlonso » Sat 15 Sep, 2007 12:29 am

Good man!
Forza GP
User avatar
Elite Mumbler
Posts: 5833
Joined: Thu 11 Jan, 2007 9:27 pm
Location: Báile Átha Cliath

Return to 2007 Racing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests